Scottish Rite

Scottish Rite Masonry started in California October 19, 1908 when Victoria Consistory No. 25 located in the city of Oakland, and Los Angeles Consistory No. 26 located in Los Angeles, received their respective Charters. Nelson Scott served as Commander-in-Chief of Victoria Consistory No. 25, and Benjamin F. Warner served as Commander-in-Chief of Los Angeles Consistory No. 26 under the direction of the United Supreme Council Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry Prince Hall Affiliation Southern Jurisdiction United States of America.

Supreme Council

The United Supreme Council Headquartered in Memphis, Tennessee is the supreme authority of the Rite and has territorial Jurisdiction of the following States and Territories: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Korea, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, and Republic of Liberia.

The System of Degrees

Each Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees. In the Southern Masonic Jurusdiction, the bodies are the:

  • Ineffable Degrees (4°–14°)
  • Historical and Philosophical Degrees (15°–18°)
  • Tradition and Chivalric Degrees (19°–30°)
  • Consistory Degrees (31°–32°)